Knead, Grind & Whip

Crockpot Country Style Steak and Gravy

I don’t eat a lot of red meat, but since I don’t eat pork, I like to throw some beef into the rotation every now and again to mix things up a bit. Let’s face it, a girl can only eat so much poultry and seafood.  This past Wednesday, I had a hankering for some beef, and I had narrowed my choices down to a Mississippi Pot Roast or cube steak.  I went with the cube steak to make Crockpot Country Style Steak and Gravy.  It’s a really simple recipe and it’s very flavorful and practically cooks itself since you use the slow cooker.

The store didn’t have a family pack of cube steaks, so I got 3 packages of 2 steaks each.  Yes, it’s just me, but I use my dinner leftovers for hot lunches to take to work.  All those years of cooking for four (myself and 3 males with hearty appetites) have left me incapable of cooking for just one person.  I always have leftovers, and I try not to waste any food.

So here’s what you’ll need:

wp-1472079599691.jpgwp-1472079577102.jpg    

-A slow cooker (duh… OR a large pot of pan)

-Cube steaks (enough to feed however many you’re serving)

-1 pkg. Onion Soup mix

-2 cans Cream of Mushroom soup  (you can also use 1 Cream of Chicken soup and 1 Golden Mushroom soup, or any variety you like)

-¾ cup of water

Basically, just put it all in the slow cooker and cook it on Low for 8-10 hours or on High for 4-6 hours.  The meat will be very tender and very tasty.  You will not need knives, just cut it with your fork!  Pair it with potatoes, rice or noodles and a favorite green vegetable.

20160824_195844

Another variation on this simple recipe is to season, flour and brown the meat before putting it in the slow cooker.  It’s not necessary, but it’s a step that I like to take for additional flavor in the meat.  You do need to be careful because the soup mix and the canned soup both have high sodium content. When you season your meat, if you choose the browning option, be aware of your salt usage.  I use garlic powder and onion powder, black pepper and a little bit of salt.  Okay, I used more than a little bit. It was almost too much, and my dish was almost salty. So I know of which I speak in giving you the salt warning!  It was still good though and I balanced it out by not using much in my mashed potatoes, so it all worked out. So anyway, season, flour, and then brown the meat lightly on each side.  Then add them to the slow cooker.  Another, tip– add a little Cream of Mushroom soup to the bottom of the slow cooker before layering your meat so it doesn’t stick to the pot.
Give the recipe a try and let me know how you like it!       

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54494-270-57E3011EF772EDC4DE7D32EACB8A93D1

 

 

Leave a Reply

