Black, White & Read All Over

Magazine Habit Cured?

I may have previously spoken about my love of print magazines, maybe.  There was a time when each month, I purchased the same three magazines– O Magazine, Essence and Real Simple.  And no, I don’t mean I subscribed to them, I meant I physically went to stores and purchased them, paying full newsstand prices.  Yes, I am aware that I could have paid less with subscriptions, and had them delivered to my home, earlier that they appeared on the stands.  I also would have had to endure travel-worn, wrinkled, ripped covers and crumpled pages, wilted and wet if it rained during the day, beat up magazines.  No thanks. I preferred going to the store and carefully selecting my issues from the center of the stack.  When I got them home, the rule was that no one could read my magazines before I did.

Over time, I began to grow away from my magazine habit.  I don’t remember why exactly.  Probably the accumulation of magazines, especially “O” because I hated throwing them away for some reason.  So I began to only purchase the September issues, and the bigger the magazine, the better.   

10661272_508701302565881_1026532831_n

Over time, I began to grow away from my magazine habit.  I don’t remember why exactly.  Probably the accumulation of magazines, especially “O” because I hated throwing them away for some reason. So I began to only purchase the September issues, and the bigger the magazine, the better.  The grande dame of September issues is Vogue, and I definitely got that one. I would also get “O” because it was “O.”  Then Vanity Fair or Harper’s Bazaar depending upon the covers, sometimes both, and I would also buy Elle and Marie-Claire.  I began calling them my birthday indulgences (my birthday is 9/10, hint-hint).  I would set aside a time to just sit and go page by page thru each issue with a favorite treat, undisturbed and fully engrossed in my annual guilty pleasure.  As anyone who looks at magazines regularly, the Septembers are not cheap, they cost more than other issues and they can be over an inch thick.

So this year, I have been reading all kinds of magazines for free, digitally, from the library using an app called Zinio.  All my favorites, no stacks of magazines, all free!  I’ve got my co-workers hooked as well.  

zinio

Now, it’s late August and the September issues are dropping.  I’m excited, but always especially for the September Vogue.  So, I knew it would be on Zinio, but I promised myself, as a birthday treat, I would buy the print copy of the behemoth issue.  I was looking around online to find the release date, and I ran across this amazing deal. For $6 on Amazon, I could get 6 issues of Vogue, including the September issue and the next five issues, digital access through the Vogue app, and a set of Vogue coasters.  I couldn’t pass it up. The September issue alone costs $10!

I was good with the purchase and the savings even though I can get the digitals free from Zinio. What can I say? I love that thick magazine! So I got instant access to the digital copy, and I refuse to look at it yet, and the Zinio copy became available the next morning after I placed my order, and I will not download it.  My print copy should show up by my birthday, and it will be well worth the wait!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54494-270-57E3011EF772EDC4DE7D32EACB8A93D1

Leave a Reply

