Uncategorized

Holidays Too Soon

I know I’m not the only one where I work because we have had some discussions about it, but is anyone else feeling mind-boggled by the fact that it is two weeks from Thanksgiving? Where the freak did the time go? I’m not ready to start thinking about Christmas yet either.

I would like to take this opportunity to blame the warp speed of passing time on retailers.  Do you remember how early the Halloween candy was on display? What about how quickly the Christmas decorations replaced the Halloween candy? Good grief!  We’re going from Charlie Brown’s unsuccessful trick or treating (“I got a rock”) to the Grinch’s shriveled little heart in a three week period!

And another thing, how in Who-ville are we supposed to get ready for Thanksgiving when everyone is so obsessed about Black Friday deals?  Do folks still actually have Thanksgiving dinners? Are these gatherings actually thinly veiled strategy sessions for mapping out shopping routes?

When I was growing up, I don’t ever remember feeling like the months of October, November and December were running all together and flying by.  It was almost just the opposite, they crawled by and we couldn’t for the days off at Thanksgiving and Christmas break.  Now it feels like the end of the year is looming closer than ever.

We need to slow down and let these special days come in their own time.  Getting the stores ready so early creates the illusion that the holiday is actually here; thereby creating that holiday shopping anxiety a whole month earlier.  It must be wonderful for the pharmaceutical companies. Holidayanxiety requiring medication extended for a whole extra month.  Maybe that’s the real reason behind this phenomenon, and I just answered my own question!

Now, so that we can all be on the same page, we are getting ready for Thanksgiving first.  You should not be Christmas shopping before Thanksgiving!  Black Friday is the official start to the Christmas shopping season!  You should be planning menus, grocery shopping and deciding who is hosting the dinner where you will be eating. Happy Holidays! (Is it too early to say that??)

5 thoughts on “Holidays Too Soon

  1. I hear ya! And I know some people who for 1) are already listening to Christmas music and 2) they are almost done Christmas shopping. These are the people that are helping the retailers!!

    What the heck????

    I am not ready for this. I am not ready for 2012. I just need everything to slow way, way down. 🙂

  2. I have some family members who have already put up their Christmas tree and DECORATED FOR CHRISTMAS!!! What the heck??? Can we not enjoy one holiday at a time?? Christmas is starting to show up in stores at the same time Halloween stuff is being put out. Good grief, Charlie Brown! I agree with your sentiments. Growing up, my mom and dad were adamant that it was one holiday at a time. Christmas music was turned on the day after Thanksgiving. The Christmas tree and decorations didn’t come out of the attic until the first weekend after Thanksgiving. I feel the spirit for the holidays is lost with all the materialism and the blatant attempt to make more money and to hurry up and get the stores back to black. So yes, black Friday is showing up in October. So sad.

  3. I have to say that I couldn’t agree with you more. I would also say that I’m on the fence about how I feel about the holiday shopping teasers the stores employ in order to get you out there to shop. I must say that I am a bit of a shop-a-holic when I am able. I remember how it always seemed like Christmas day was light year’s distance from Thanksgiving Day. Yes, October, November, and December into the new year is a blur.

    I mean for one– today is Veterans’ Day. Why can’t we pay homage to those who served and paid the ultimate sacrifice for this thing we know as freedom? Yeah, Thanksgiving Day is a mere couple of weeks away,but yes… let’s live in the present.

    Growing up I ALWAYS enjoyed Thanksgiving day. My birthday is usually somewhere near Thanksgiving Day, the long “Thanksgiving Day weekend” or the like. Growing up, I used to revel in people in my family celebrating my birthday whenever the family got together for family dinner. I guess that’s a part of me that caught up in self centeredness.

    As I grew older, got married, had kids, etc. I admit that I became one of those folks that looked forward to the next day– Black Friday. Whether it was Wal-mart at 4:00 AM, Circuit City at 5:00 AM or Macy’s (or some other big box department store around 7:00), I loved every bit of Black Friday. I saw it as a bit of a challenge to see how much I could really get accomplished. Now, I can’t imagine going to Wal-Mart at 10:00 PM on Thanksgiving night and then Target by 12:00 midnight. Seems like there HAS to be a needed break allowing us to ramp up or transition in the Christmas sales season. As an aside… I too, am one of those folks who like to have the Xmas tree up a week before Thankgiving so that it can be on on Thanksgiving Day night.

    Now, when I start seeing stores all dressed up for the Christmas season even before the Trick or Treaters have come a’ringing… I can see how some folks could be bit weary.

    As I said… today is Veterans’ Day. I saw on the local news today how Santa Claus is coming to one of the local malls today! I think that’s real sad.

  4. I slightly disagree. Because of economics being what they are, 9/10 of my family is unemployed. So I’ve been waiting to decorated and bring in some Christmas Spirit. That’s not to say I want it shoved down my throat at every store I enter, but I am looking forward to quiet nights at home with family, baking goodies, and just celebrating the spirit of peace and being together. I can’t wait; and I say, BRING IT ON!

    • Thanks for your comment Molly Jo! I understand your sentiment, and I totally get the need for some Christmas cheer. It’s the shoving “down my throat” part that is driving me bonkers! I hope things turn around for your family members soon.

Leave a Reply

