Uncategorized

All Night Long

There was a time that I used to consider myself a night owl. Night owls use the late hours as their quiet time, or their time to get things done while everyone else is asleep.  They are the opposite of morning people.  You know those people who wake up early, and are so cheerful in the morning that you want to slap them? Those are morning people.    

I have had to rethink my night owl status over the past year or so.  As much as I hate to admit it, I can no longer “hang.”  I can still stay awake late occasionally, but not every night the way I used to.  I could stay up until 2 or 3 in the morning, get up at 6 and go to work a full day, and then do it all over again.  

Most people’s vision gets worse around their 40th birthday or shortly thereafter.  My vision improved, but I have lost my ability to make it through a day without a nap.  If I don’t take an after work nap, then I fall asleep sometime between 8 and 9pm.  That’s so sad! The plus side is that I have not become a morning person. However, I do have to DVR anything I want to see on television after 10pm, because I can’t trust that I will be able to stay awake.  I have fallen asleep twice since I started writing this; it is 9:50pm.

When I go to bed early, I still sleep all night, and I still hate getting out of bed in the morning because I want to sleep more. Going to bed early just feels so unnatural to me.  I guess I just like watching television too much.  One of my tactics now is if there is nothing on TV that I like to watch regularly, I try to go to bed early.  Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not a TV junkie.  If anything, I’m a book and magazine junkie.  But I do have certain shows that I watch weekly.  On those nights, I try to get a nap so I can stay awake.

Well, I don’t want to get to the point of typing gibberish (like when I typed last night’s blog post) so I’m going to stop here and get ready for bed.  Good night! Don’t stay up too late! 

Leave a Reply

