Uncategorized

Weekend Ramblings

It’s a cold and rainy day here and I don’t feel like doing anything.  I slept in late, and the dog is barking at me every now and again to remind me not to forget that he hasn’t gone outside yet.  I think he’s going to blow soon.  I don’t feel like getting dressed and going out into the elements, but I must.

So off we go into the 40 degree, soft, misty rain and of course my little dog doesn’t want to do everything that I want him to do.  He’d rather stand in the rain and watch the leaves fall.  So we came back into the warm, and I hope not to go back out until later when I go shop for my soup ingredients.  I have been craving a creamy, mushroom, chicken and rice concoction.  I found a recipe that fits the bill that I may tackle today. It is a chicken and wild rice soup recipe that I found on How To: Simplify (http://www.howto-simplify.com/2011/08/chicken-and-wild-rice-soup.html)

I have to say that I really look forward to my weekends these days, and it isn’t because I am looking forward to doing something in particular. It’s more that I’m looking forward to doing absolutely nothing.  My regular readers (all five of you lol) know how I have extolled the values of doing nothing in the past.  (https://pinkmelange.wordpress.com/2011/08/06/a-few-words-on-doing-nothing/) and (http://skirt.com/ivygirl/blog/few-words-doing-nothing)

Well nothing has changed.  I still like to do “nothing.”  Now when I say nothing, I don’t mean that I sit and do absolutely nothing.  I still prepare a meal or two.  I still blog or write something.  I do a couple of loads of laundry and I may even clean my cat’s litter box.  What I don’t do is have a specific time to be anyplace particular for any particular reason.  I don’t commit to doing anything other than that which has to be done, or that I don’t want to do.

I have been enjoying Oprah’s new “Lifeclass” show that comes on every weeknight at 8 on her network OWN.  I like to watch things in order (hence the four episodes of ABC’s “Private Practice” on my DVR.  I will not watch a new episode until I have seen the previous episode. I have yet to watch the season premier, so I can’t watch the others yet) Don’t judge me… anyway, back to “Lifeclass.”   I forgot to watch one night during the first week so I started DVR-ing episodes.  Well I have yet to catch up, so I am watching my third episode today.  That Oprah always makes me cry!

I also need to make a decision about Halloween. To give out candy, or not to give out candy??  I am leaning towards not giving out candy.  The dog will have a fit of barking every time someone knocks on the door and candy is expensive.  Tell me why my 17 and 16 year old sons are talking about trick-or-treating??

After Halloween comes November 1st, the first day of National Novel Writing Month! NaNoWriMo 2011 is the challenge to write a novel in a month.  I am so excited, and I am not ready!  I found out about NaNoWriMo early in October, and I have not done any prep writing or prep anything.  I am just going to take the plunge and see what happens.  Here’s some inspiration, the movie based upon the book “Water for Elephants” had it’s beginnings as a NaNoWriMo product. That is awesome!!  Well, I am going to get back to my television, I hear the Kardashians calling!

Leave a Reply

