Uncategorized

An Attitude of Gratitude

I have always been fortunate enough to have a really great core group of friends.  I don’t mean just buddies that you shop and have drinks with.  I’m talking friends of the true-blue, stuck like glue variety. I don’t know how I even deserve them.  I must have been an awesome human being in a past life.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a bad person, but I can only hope that my friends think I’m half as great as I think they are. 
I call them my cheerleaders.  Whenever I think that I can’t do something, or that things just aren’t going to work out for me, they encourage me.  They give me that little push, (or that kick in the butt) to get me through.  They don’t wear uniforms, but there isn’t a better team anywhere on earth!
I call them my lifeguards.  They have thrown me life preservers and life jackets on many occasions.  Sometimes they probably didn’t even know.  To them it might have just been a phone call, but to me it meant the world.  Just when I was at the end of my rope, they stepped in and pointed out a way when I thought there wasn’t one.
I call them my sisters.  I think one of the reasons that I have really close friends is because I am on only child.  I don’t have that sibling tie that many have, so I had to create it with sisters from other misters.  
I call them my friends.  I would do anything for each and every one of them, and I have yet to see the limits of what they would do for me and mine.  I love them like family, because they are just that.  
What I know for sure is that I always hope to be in the position to help one of my friends when they need it.  In the meantime, I say thank you for all of my friends, and I am eternally grateful that they are in my life!
Leave a Reply

