Uncategorized

Let it Flow! (or An Epiphany for the Crazy List Chick)

So my two sons (teenagers) and I are going to Virginia Beach tomorrow to hang out for four days of sun and family. I have an aunt, uncle, several cousins and even more kids of cousins that live there, and we are each looking forward to the getaway. Now, I don’t consider myself to be a compulsive planner by any stretch of the imagination, but I do have a running list in my head of things that need to happen before we leave. Over the past week, I have been experiencing roadblock, after barrier, after setback that could potentially interfere with our trip. Not preventing, just interfering with my trip. Well, actually just interfering with my list planning. It’s making me feel like some crazy list lady, and I promise you, I’m not that chick. Or maybe I really am? I just don’t run around with my list hanging out for everyone else to see. See how crazy this is making me?

I am beginning to recognize that I am experiencing one of those life lessons that we all love so much. The more I plan, the more things happen to cause me to change my plans. I can plan all day long, but things just do not always go as planned. So the lesson is what? Get over myself? Let go and let God? Be more flexible? Go with the flow and relax? Probably a little bit of each of those. I was looking for a really good quote to go here, and there are lots of really good ones. Scholarly and important sounding, but this is my favorite: “Everyone has a plan – until they get punched in the face.” –Mike Tyson, boxer

I am on my one month summer break from my teaching job, and I’m making lists and planning my days like I’m at work doing lesson plans. We need to finish the laundry, go to the store, get gas, still need to cook dinner, I haven’t written a skirt! blog in week, I have writer’s block, my iPad needs to charge, my period isn’t supposed to start until next week – why did it start this morning, is that your phone charger or mine? I have stressed myself out because stuff (life) keeps happening, and I ended up with a headache, so I had to take a nap. A nice, long nap. With the cat. In the bed. Head under the covers.

Now that my brain has quieted down, I can finally think about what to write. I have informed the boys that we will leave tomorrow whenever we get things done. I told them the things that we need to do, and they will get done as we go. In no special order. There is no designated departure time by which things should happen. We will just ebb and flow like the waves in the ocean.

Leave a Reply

