Uncategorized

Nail Obsessed

I was reading a blog post on Afrobella’s website yesterday about bubble baths.  Medicinal, therapeutic bubble baths to be exact.  She talked about the merit of a good long soak, replete with tips to get your tub squeaky clean and then she went on to recommend some of her favorite bath products.  As I read the post, it got me to to thinking… what product(s) that I use regularly would I recommend?

Pondering how I would answer that question inspired me to do “Product Junkie Tuesdays,” (PJT) which inspired my entire weekly editorial schedule, which will be revealed daily this week.  You know I have been challenged in the arena of regular postings.   Hopefully the schedule, along with the awesome feature that allows me to schedule posts in advance, will help keep me on track!  With that being said, my first PJT will feature—ta da! Nail polish.  Not just any polish, but my favorite, inexpensive, guilty pleasure, Sinful Colors.

sinful

Now don’t ask me what’s so special about Sinful Colors nail polish, because I’m just going to tell you that it’s because of the price!  I love a bargain, and while I love some of the other more expensive lines (OPI), I just can’t bring myself to pay $8 for a bottle of nail polish that I might use once.  And that’s pretty much it.  Also the Sinful Colors bottles and brush handles are similar to OPI’s, but for the lovely price of $1.99 at Walgreens.  I shouldn’t forget to mention that they have a really nice selection of colors as well.  I can also be purchased at Walmart, Target, Rite Aid and Wegman’s.  Another nice option that is a few price points more with an OPI-type bottle is China Glaze.

I know, I know, you’re saying, “it’s just nail polish.” But for me, it’s like therapy in a little glass bottle.  The whole process of going to the store and choosing a color, bringing it home, removing the old color, and meticulously applying the first, second, and ultimately third coat just settles my jangled nerves and gives me time to sort out the tangles in my brain.  The other thing I love about nail polish is that you don’t have to have dragon lady length nails to rock a really pretty color, or even a design.  Gotta go now, I feel a color change coming on!

Leave a Reply

